Even though this film is not accessible in a lot of cities, I wanted to write about it as I am deeply disappointing in the numbers it's received. We all cry and complain about the dreck (well, most of us) that is the Ice Cube and Tyler Perry empire, begging for something more and something different, and when it's right in front of us, what happens? It is virtually ignored.
I am speaking of the film "Night Catches Us", starring Anthony Mackie and Kerry Washington.
Since I've moved back to Oakland, I've had the very fine privilege of being around some original Black Panthers; the ones that were front and center when everything went down, both here and in Los Angeles. The vast majority of them epitomize the old saying "Still waters run deep". Silent, powerful, exuding the energy of all of the hurt, lessons, wisdom and knowledge that make up their being; and careful about the company they keep.
I would say this film is very much an allegory of that type of Black Panther personality, and it is fitting as it centers around two people that are former Black Panthers, struggling to get past their life-changing and disturbing experiences while in the party (Mackie and Washington).
That is basically all that the film is about. It is not an epic-type film (though they show original footage of the Panthers), but a slice of the very large pie that was/is The Panthers. And sometimes a slice is all we need to gather focus on a film's characters, and the beauty of the life it represents.
Kerry plays a civil rights attorney, seemingly having her old cohorts and her brother as her main clients. Her husband was tragically shot to death years before in a Panther strong-arm effort gone wrong. She has a daughter she's raising, and lives with a man who is apparently successful on a few levels. She has chosen to stay in the neighborhood where she's lived all of her life, because in some way, she still believes "the cause" will pick up where it left off.
Mackie is a former Panther that has been deeply branded a "snitch", and may have been the cause of Kerry's husband's failed attempt and ultimate death. He has left town years ago, immediately after the incident, and returns to tie up loose ends in the wake of his father's passing.
Without telling the whole film (which on the outside doesn't seem like a lot), the wonderful chemistry of Kerry and Mackie draws you in, and sneaks up on you, just like a panther. They have learned a lot of lessons over the years, and when they come together, even though the core of what they were is still the same, the changes they've been through have changed them as well. They represent in each other the idealism they once had, but slowly and carefully come together to overcome what their current differences are to get to something that is true and organic--something that has been missing from both of their lives: love.
Intermixed in this relationship is the background of Mackie still having to deal with his accusers (including Jamie Hector from "The Wire"), who haven't forgotten a thing, Kerry's brother's breakdown stemming from his deep disappointment in the revolution that never really seemed to happen, the easy comings of Black men in Black women's lives in the 70's and the decades beforehand (a likely offset of the way slavery set up the familial unit), and the very sweet burgeoning relationship between Kerry's young daughter and Mackie.
To me, this film is compelling, engaging, and involving. It makes you think, and definitely has very real-life parallels of love, friendship, and family, both the loving and contentious aspects of them. Some may feel a slow moving film that takes it's time to establish it's characters and get to the center of it's point may be boring. But guess what? This movie, just like a living former Black Panther, is selective about the company it keeps.
Black Cinema At Large Rating: B++. Ms. Invisibelle says check it out.
oh, and ps: the soundtrack by the roots is fantastic...this film is on cable on demand in many cities
Sunday, December 12, 2010
Please See This Film...
Posted by
Invisible Woman
at
12/12/2010
17
comments
Labels: current cinema, kerry washington, kudos, overlooked, reviews
Friday, October 15, 2010
Let's Hear It For The New Ladies Of Black Cinema...
Okay, there is always someone or something that brings Ms. Invisible back from the dead; if not posting while in competition for the Black Weblog Awards couldn't do it, then nothing could, I thought.
But this warmed up Ms. Invisible's cold, cold heart...I only know her name is Bittah Sweet on Twitter, and she made this video for a class project bigging up not just the Black female directors that we know and love, but the mega-talented new jacks who, from what I am reading, are making VERY big noises. Something that this eye and ear definitely needs to see and hear. Give it a whirl....
(admittedly, i watched with the sound on mute--depends on your musical taste)
Posted by
Invisible Woman
at
10/15/2010
3
comments
Labels: kudos, overlooked, spotlight on, up and coming auteurs
Sunday, August 1, 2010
I Always Loved The Way She Said Mamuwalde...
I wanted to write this post last week, but alas, your favorite slacker was caught doing what she does best.
Vonetta McGee passed away July 9th, and hearing the news made me lament on not just her, but many Black actresses in the 70's. People like her, Judy Pace, Rosalind Cash, etc...so naturally beautiful, stylish, and full of vibrancy, only to be treated practically like furniture for the most part.
Vonetta was one that actually got to be featured in a way that required real acting, even though her main films were considered "Blaxploitation". Her breakout was in "Blacula", as the object of Blacula's affection. Even though dude wore a cape and was a vampire, she saw beneath that for the sexy, intelligent, manly piece of lovely chocolate that he was....when she called his name "Mamuwalde" she said it with such sweetness and reverence, and it made a ridiculous film less ridiculous.
She was in "Shaft in Africa", "Hammer", "Detroit 9000", and "The Eiger Sanction" with Clint Eastwood, with the very tragic name of "Jemima". It was major for a Black actress to make a crossover like that back then....she could have been a Zoe Saldana today if this were her time. She also did a tremendous amount of television, but doesn't have any credits since 1998.
One film I remember in particular was a film called "Thomasine And Bushrod", which was kinda sorta like a Black version of Bonnie and Clyde in the old west. It was directed by Gordon Parks Jr., who also directed "Superfly". It was really a thin film, filled in with an inordinate amount of montages, but she was something to look at. She co-starred with her real life lover, Max Julian (The Mack), who talked to her like a pimp to his 'ho. He was kinda scary with that, and every time I've seen that film I could truly imagine their relationship being like that in real life. I seem to have read somewhere that she never married, and after being with Max Julian, it isn't hard to process why.
But I digress....peaceful journey, Vonetta; your memory will always be kept alive here and the projects I work on, beautiful one.
The trailer from Blacula:
Sorry, I couldn't find a trailer of Thomasine And Bushrod, but here is a clip from the film:
Posted by
Invisible Woman
at
8/01/2010
10
comments
Labels: absolute hotness, black cinema history, overlooked, peaceful journey
Monday, April 26, 2010
Old School Flicks 101
Hey all. I think I'm finally over my twitter obsession and can get back to blogging. Well, that's not entirely accurate. I know I said I wanted to start blogging regularly as a tribute to David Mills, but the biggest truth is that I've been uninspired. Yes.
There hasn't been a Black film this year that I've been excited about or in anticipation to see. I think I want to see them, then when they actually come out, I'm like "meh", and go about my business. Cases in point, "The Book Of Eli", with its overdone to death premise, "American Violet", "Death At A Funeral" (fine-ass James Marsden nonwithstanding), and don't even get me started on "Why Did I Get Married Too" or "Law Abiding Citizen". The one film that I was really looking forward to--"Brooklyn's Finest" was a major disappointment of epic proportions. I just watched "New Jack City" for about the 20th time yesterday, and it was still more gripping and compelling than Brooklyn's Finest.
And what is to look forward to? "Just Wright" with King Latifah and Common in a "romantic" relationship? Gimme a freaking break! To be fair, YT cinema hasn't been all that fantastic either--just saw a screener of "Chloe" with Liam Neeson and Julianne Moore, which was like an extremely watered down "Fatal Attraction" seen through fogged up glasses.
To be honest, the only Black films that have excited me lately are actually all from the archives. I know that some follow this blog to check on the latest happenings, but around here I kinda just write about what I'm feeling at the time. What I've been feeling are some fantastic films from the 70's, which I think are a must see for everyone, Black or non. And some not so fantastic ones that I think some should just flat out view to see the sheer nerve of some producers and directors in the 70's.
Each day I will talk about one of these films; "The Spook Who Sat By The Door", "Chameleon Street", "Mandingo", "The Legend Of Nigger Charlie" and the amazing and freaking fantastic "Ganja And Hess", a jewel of a film by a country mile.
So tune in once a day, every day, for the rest of the week and I will have some films on here that you can learn about, or if you've already seen them, discuss with me (I love, love, love your comments). A huge thanks to those who have stuck with me, and to my new followers who have come on board though I've been seriously M.I.A. See you tomorrow!
Posted by
Invisible Woman
at
4/26/2010
15
comments
Labels: black cinema history, california love, common, denzel washington, don cheadle, king latifah, overlooked, throwback films
Tuesday, September 8, 2009
This N' That....
So many thoughts....so much slacking...
Sorry for not posting. I have a sublet in L.A. while I'm looking for a permanent place...with no freakin' air conditioning! Who lives like that here? Needless to say, with 90 and a hundred degree heat, I haven't really felt like blogging.
But the heat has broken, so here I is. I have so much to say, but I know most folks don't like to read long, involved posts (at least here they don't) and frankly, I'm not in the mood to write one. So I'll do some drive-by observations:
Big Mamma's House 3: Why?
Why all the hulabaloo over "District Nine" in regards to racism? I thoroughly enjoyed it...people are never satisfied...jeesh. If you wanna talk about some real BS, see above.
Why are serial mash-on-anything-that-moves Hill Harper and 3 times married Steve Harvey suddenly considered "relationship experts" after writing suspect books? I am seriously scratching my head over that one.
If you are complaining that there is no interesting film out there, and you still haven't seen "Life Is Hot In Cracktown", you have no valid argument right now.
What happened to Andre 3000, Elijah Kelley, and Don Cheadle all doing separate Sammy Davis, Jr. projects?
Speaking of Sammy Davis, why does Nick Cannon dress and act just like him on "America's Got Talent"...velvet jackets and boutineers? Really?
Why did I see a billboard for LL Cool J's TV show, and think "I wonder who that Black guy is?" before slowly realizing that was him? Ummm...Ell--whatever you are doing to that face of yours, now would be a very, very, very good time to stop. And oh--the lip licking thing? Bury that too.
Speaking of burying, what crypt did they finally find his co-star Chris O'Donnell in?
I can't wait to see Lee Daniel's "Precious" even though everybody is referring to it as Tyler Perry and Oprah's film...I'm not surprised, and not amused. I find it interesting, however, that Mo'Nique and Mariah Carey are getting serious Oscar buzz.
And a very special thanks to Ebony Jet for selecting me as one of their favorite blogs, AOL Black Voices for linking me on their main page, and fine, wonderful readers like yourself placing me in the top 50 film blogs in the whole, wide world on Wikio....not bad for a super-slacker, eh? :-) But I know I need to step up my game...working on it (really!)
Posted by
Invisible Woman
at
9/08/2009
14
comments
Labels: coming attractions, don cheadle, kerry washington, lee daniels, martin lawrence, oprah winfrey, overlooked, stupid sequels, tyler perry, ummmm...ok
Monday, July 13, 2009
A New Avenue For Black Cinema?
This is a cross-post of an article I did for our Black Cinema collective blog Shadow And Act; please join us over there for updates throughout the day, every day, on Black Cinema and it's offshoots...
Over the weekend, I watched two, ummm...how shall we say, very frugal DVD productions; "Peaches" (thanks a lot Sergio) and "Applause For Miss E." Both are Black stage plays transferred to DVD.
I'd written about "Peaches" starring Wendy Raquel Robinson, a little earlier this year, after Sergio emailed me a trailer of it. It is the story of a Jezebel/femme fatale that drives men crazy and you readers gave it a hearty thumbs down, deservedly so...honestly it was akin to a middle school play--just atrocious.
But when I watched "Applause For Miss E" (to see the trailer click HERE), which is about a woman who missed her chances as a comedienne and in life, it made me much more reflective. You see, it had the same shoestring budget, and the same lightweight elementary school-type plot as "Peaches", but the huge difference was in the casting. It starred Vanessa Bell Calloway and mistress of a thousand hairstyles, Jazsmin Lewis, (no real surprises there) but it made my heart heavy to see the beautiful and talented Gina Torres involved with this. And as much as I talk sh*t about Roger Guenveur Smith, is was pretty disheartening to see him hamming it up and chewing up the scenery with the most mangled southern accent ever portrayed on stage here. He actually seemed drunk and high, and he probably was, to numb the reality of having to actually be associated with this project.
My first thought was, has it really come to this? Our A-list players being reduced to television (i.e. Laurence Fishburne and Angela Bassett), and our B string list going the so-called "chitlin' circuit" route?
But that is too obvious. Something deeper is brewing. Let me begin by saying that I have no problem with these plays being done; I have actually enjoyed a few. There is an audience out there that lives on them, so why should they be denied? Sergio and I were on Afronerd's podcast with David Talbert (who is the original Tyler Perry) and he relayed that he makes the same type of play, with the same themes, and the same morals over and over again because it was what people wanted, and it was the only thing he knew well, and he had absolutely no ambitions beyond that. I gave him a huge amount of respect for not pretending to be anything else.
That being said, maybe we should take a page from Talbert's and Tyler Perry's books. They have taken a mostly ignored medium and have taken ownership of it, with varying degrees of success. They know what the market is, and haven't waited on the YT studio system to give them comfort and aproval, and they have their visions played out to the masses on their own terms. Maybe we can explore the same route in getting our stories told that we desperately want to see...say Harriet Tubman's life story, or a realistic Black romance, via the stage to DVD route.
A while back I did a "7 Questions" with actor Carl Gilliard, and his advice to up and coming filmmakers was to keep costs down by filming a movie like a play. Few actors, just a couple of sets, and really concentrate on the script. We have complained many times about how quality Black films are either not getting greenlit, or are not distributed in a way to reach a general audience. Could this be a way to take matters into our own hands?
Think about it. In the 70's and 80's, stage plays were hugely popular and big events for Blacks--Colored Girls Who Have Considered, Your Arms Too Short To Box With God, Ma Rainey's Black Bottom, Dreamgirls...I could go on and on. Of course, these were more pricey productions than the current state of stage plays, but that is my point. Why not tweak the current formula and bring in Black Hollywood actors that are undervalued and underused in the YT system? (I don't know about you, but I am tired of seeing the same 5 Black actors in high profile movies). Build beautiful set designs, use amazing scripts, maybe some big name Black directors with stories we want to see? Plays written from bestselling Black books? The possibilities are endless. Then transfer these plays to DVDs. Black folks surely have always found a way to buy Tyler's Madea plays en force. This can be a very genuine and viable way for us to command our own ship, so to speak (with the real threat of piracy, haha).
I'm not saying that this is the end all, but it can be a real way to get out of the dreadful and sorry current state of Black Hollywood, because in my opinion, it certainly can't get any worse than it is right now. Ask Roger Guenveur Smith if you don't believe me.
Posted by
Invisible Woman
at
7/13/2009
7
comments
Labels: dvds, overlooked, real talk
Friday, January 9, 2009
Adventures In Palookaville...

There was this guy that I used to date back in the day, Thomas Monagham (very Irish, right?). I use his real name, cause if he ever happens upon this blog I would be very glad to see/hear from him.
Anyway, Thomas and I met on the subway in New York. Actually he just really mashed on me and charmed me to death in just 5 minutes (till my stop), so I just had to see him at least one more time. He was an actor, and on our first date we went to a Greta Garbo Festival. I wasn't really into it at all at first, but then I actually really enjoyed it.
Thomas was always showing me new things in film, and he was very much the actor in style and looks in the vein of the holy covenant of the Mickey Rourke (when he was hot), Gary Oldman (when he was hot), Eric Roberts (when he was hot), and Sean Penn (when he was hot) mold, and he really exposed me to the works of all four actors. So when I saw 3 movies starring each one of them over the weekend, it led me to think of him and compelled me to post about them.
First up was "State Of Grace", which I had always mistakenly thought was a military film. Not at all. It's Penn as a deep undercover cop from Hell's Kitchen who comes back to his old neighborhood, with his old gangster cronies (including Gary Oldman), and basically has to be a rat fink.
Man, Sean used to be hot to death--I could see why Madonna married him. He wasn't handsome in the traditional sense, but the way he wore his hair, the way he dressed, even the way he smoked; his bad boy swagger was off the meters. The movie was pretty much a by numbers crime story, but Oldman and Penn are so charismatic it keeps you transfixed. There is a beautiful juxtaposition at the end between NY's famous St. Patrick's Day Parade, and Penn's bad ass high-noon style showdown, all in slo-mo. Rent it just to see that sequence alone.
I also rewatched "The Pope Of Greenwich Village", which I hadn't seen in years, starring Mickey Rourke and Eric Roberts. For those of you that don't know, there was actually a time when Eric Roberts was a much bigger star than his sister, Julia Roberts. How the mighty have fallen. It was a bit distracting to look at him sometimes, cause they look so much alike, but I digress.
Rourke and Roberts are cousins that get fired from a restaurant for Roberts' stealing. Roberts, though a complete and total airhead, comes up with a scheme to rob a safe, which they find out (too late) belongs to a mobster.
This movie has been a fave for many cause the characters are so memorable, and it is a real slice of New York life in the 80's. I say see it if you like films about New York, mobsters, and lovable losers.
I saved the best for last, which is Mickey Rourke as "The Wrestler". Holee sh*t this man can act. If you didn't know it was Mickey, you would swear you were watching someone's life. Since this is a Black Cinema blog, I won't go on and on the way I'd like to about this film.
Suffice it to say that between Darren Aronofsky and Rourke, there can't help to be some amazing sh*t. There is a scene where Rourke begins work as a deli worker in a supermarket, and for the couple of minutes before he starts his very first shift, it is just as taught, anxiety ridden, and fraught with anticipation as when he goes into a ring for a match. If a movie can convey that linear polarity, you know you have something very special before you on the screen.
The commonality of these films was that in the working class tribes of the Irish and Italians hoods and the Wrestling World, being loyal and working together came first and foremost. Before anything. And having dreams, and seeing them slowly die, and coming to the harsh realization that you may actually live out your days as a loser, compels people to do extraordinary and desperate things--some good, but a lot of it...not so much.
Here is the trailer for State Of Grace:
And for "The Pope Of Greenwich Village":
ps: if you don't know the term "palookaville", ask an old new yorker
Posted by
Invisible Woman
at
1/09/2009
16
comments
Labels: down with the swirl, overlooked, reviews, throwback films
Tuesday, December 9, 2008
Obscurities...
First up is this dude Eamonn Walker that folks are talking about as Howlin' Wolf in Cadillac Records. I first heard of him when UBM said "he was like the Idris Elba of the 90's". I saw from Thembi that he was on "OZ", but I have reported on this blog that I never really watched that show, and why.
He does seem to be a good choice to play Howlin' Wolf, as he has the old school manly look about him, good to play someone from the southern back woods of the 40's and 50's like Wolf was. This role may propel him to the mainstream stardom that seemed to escape him, as I see he's done an awful lot of TV (and British at that) and not too much film. He was in "Unbreakable" with Bruce Willis and Samuel Jackson, but I don't really remember that....

The next dude is way more obscure...at least to folks born after 1975. I have been watching a lot of throwback movies on cable, and this dude kept popping up with his big bubblicious eyeballs..."Across 110th Street", "Gordon's War", "Body And Soul"...there he was, with his intense stares and super-dooper fly "threads"--always the bad guy putting foot to ass. Who was this guy, anyway? Well, it turns out his name is Gilbert Lewis, and he was also in "Cotton Comes To Harlem" and "Fort Apache The Bronx", two of my faves, tho not in prominant or memorable roles.
Just as obscure seems to be pictures of him from back in the day...I could only find the blurry one of him above, and even in that one he's in the background. He's done a lot of guest starring stints on TV, but guess what? He was "The King Of Cartoons" on "Pee Wee's Playhouse". I thought that was the dude from Blackula? Hmmm...maybe both of them played him. Someone on that show was obviously a Blaxplotation fan with a wicked sense of humor....high five!
And last on my current obscurity list is a film called "Proud". When Spike was going around talking ish while promoting "Miracle At St. Anna" he was saying how there were no films available about Black WWII heroes and their battles. Well, lo and behold, he showed Pete Chapmon's "761st" to his cast of "Miracle" for inspiration (?) and when I thought about it, there was also the movie about the Tuskegee Airmen, with Laurence Fishburne, Allen Payne, Malcolm- Jamal Warner, Andre Braugher, Courtney B. Vance, Mekhi Phifer, and Cuba Gooding, Jr. I believe that last time I looked, they were Black.

Then there's the film "Proud" which is being shown on cable all this month, with the plot described as this:
Lorenzo DuFau (OSSIE DAVIS) is a hero. As a World War II sailor, he helped save the world in 1944. As a black man, he had to fight to get in the fight -- yet his country ignores him ...His son dismisses him as a failure ...
His grandson hardly knows him ...
Until late one night when he finally tells his grandson Larry (ALBERT JONES), and Larry's two college friends Kevin (ERIK LARAY HARVEY) and Marcus (JEFFREY NASH), about his ship, the USS Mason.
In the segregated Navy, with the vast majority of black men relegated to duty as stewards or laborers, DuFau and his shipmates were the only crew to take a warship into combat.
From IW: You can read the rest of the plot, as well as read the film blog and get inside information about the movie HERE. It also stars Denise Nicholas, Kidada Jones, and Keisha Whitaker (Forest's wife).

Madame Invisible may have to do some detective work and find some more Black war hero stories....
**Update**: Blacula did also play "The King Of Cartoons". His name is William Marshall....you're welcome. :-)
Posted by
Invisible Woman
at
12/09/2008
8
comments
Labels: black cinema history, overlooked, throwback films
Monday, December 1, 2008
Random Movie News....
First of all, I must say welcome back to "The Obenson Report" and it's podcast. Tambay Obenson's blog was supposedly out of business, but I knew he'd be back! Please check him out for "serious" black film news, as well as his amusing perspectives on Black Cinema. His blog is all the things I wish I had the wherewithal to do....
On my last visit there, I see now that the classic "Hollywood Shuffle" is on Hulu. For the readers of this blog who were too young to see it the first time out, or those who never got around to it, you can view the full movie below, or go to Hulu. It is a must see about a struggling actor and his trials and tribulations in his personal life, and having to deal with playing stereotypes in Hollywood. It is also very funny.
Speaking of Hollywood Shuffle, I saw a movie about an actor with similar dilemmas over the weekend called "Premium". You may be able to catch it on cable this month--it is also out on DVD.
Dorian Missick, who I was not familiar with before, plays the struggling protagonist/actor, who is helplessly in love with Zoe Saldana. Unfortunately, Hill Harper is her buppie fiance, creating quite the love triangle.
I wasn't expecting much, so I was very surprised that it turned out to be a film about the subtleties and matureness of love, and how we don't always end up with the person we'd like to be with, cause love in and of itself is realistically not enough. It was refreshing to see the men appreciate Saldana for qualities other than her "big butt and a smile" to paraphrase Bell Biv Davoe, as we've seen in a thousand low budget Black films. It was also the first time I've seen Hill being all manly and acting with a real passion.
I have to say that Zoe Saldana is very much on my radar now; she is like a prettier, less hard, less grating, and more talented version of Jada Pinkett. There is a naturalness to her acting that is very intriguing...I think I may actually allow myself to be OK with her playing Uhura in the "Star Trek" remake, lol. Check the movie "Premium" out--which is written, directed, and produced by Pete Chatmon (kind of a hottie)--on a lazy Sunday afternoon.
Speaking of Pete Chatmon, did you know that he wrote and directed a film about Black soldiers fighting in WWII way before Spike's "Miracle At St. Anna"? It's called "761st". The synopsis is this:
The 761st Tank Battalion was activated on April 1, 1942, at Camp Claiborne, Louisiana and deployed to Europe, landing at Omaha Beach in France on October 10, 1944. Over the course of 183 days of continuous fighting (including action in the Battle of the Bulge) the "Black Panthers" became the first African-American armored unit to enter combat. With the motto "Come Out Fighting!" they faced racism at home and death overseas in a war for many freedoms they did not enjoy in America.
Sound familiar? I wonder if dude is ready to put foot to ass over the clamoring of Spike's film, while his gets completely overlooked. Kinda f'd up, imho.
I guess you've all heard that they are remaking "Fame"...I'm guessing to capitalize on the popularity of the High School Musical franchise. **yawn**
Got this from Sergio:
IW
After reading the comments about Tsotsi, like a dope I forgot to tell you this film I saw a few months ago Heart of Fire about a young girl's experience as a child solider in Eritrea, which I think BLOWS AWAY "Tsotsi". It's a German/Italian co-production made by a Italian director but it's awesome. [Hopefully] you'll mention it on your blog.
Duly mentioned...sounds really interesting. To read a bit more about it, click HERE.
Some questions...am I the only one who has zero desire to see "Twilight"? Am I the only one super curious to see how Taraji P. Henson does in "The Curious Case Of Benjamin Button"? Am I the only one who wonders why they keep giving that walking corpse Nicole Kidman work? Just askin'.
And finally, thanks ever so much (gosh, shucks) from my folkses at "The Marvalus View" and "The Happy Go Lucky Bachelor", who each gave me the "Uber Amazing Blog" award. You know, what can I say? I completely deserve it....I keed! It is an award for a blog that
inspires you
makes you smile and laugh
gives amazing information
is a great read
has an amazing design
and/or any other reason that makes them Uber Amazing
It's wonderful to know they feel about me the same way I feel about them. Thanks guys! :-) All of the blogs on my blogroll on my side bar I feel the same way about...so if you want to post this award on your blog, tell your readers I gave it to you!
Posted by
Invisible Woman
at
12/01/2008
17
comments
Labels: blog love, overlooked, stupid remakes, thanks hollywood, throwback films, up and coming auteurs
Friday, November 28, 2008
MMM (mini movie marathon)...
Next up is another film I should have seen way before now--the South African movie"Tsotsi". Tsotsi is an African term for thug, or gangster, and is the name of the anti-hero in this film. In a nutshell, Tsotsi car jacks a wealthy woman, and when she protests, he shoots her in the stomach. As he drives away, he discovers that her infant son is in the back in a car seat. For reasons unknown even to him at the time, he takes the baby boy home with him.This is not a perfect film, but it is an arresting one. Through the baby, Tsotsi finds his way from a hardcore, unapologetic criminal life to one of redemption, compassion, conscience, and consequence. I would have liked more backstory, and a bit more of what lead him to redemption, but considering the choices in films we have these days, I'll take what I can get. The performances are natural, understated, and completely affecting---the actors don't seem like actors at all, but regular folks plucked to be in this film. Think "City Of God"....if you enjoyed that one, you'll definitely get what Tsotsi is aiming for. I recommend this one as well.
We'll save the most questionable for last, which is "Divine Intervention". I confess, I sometimes have this morbid curiosity to view some DVD's that look like complete and total garbage. I think it's the same gene that makes me look at stuff like "New York Goes To Hollywood" on VH1, and "The Real Housewives of Atlanta".Anyhoo, Wesley Jonathan is a very young guy who takes the place of the very older guy as pastor of a church. Shenanigans ensue. Honestly, there is not much to say beyond that, except for the women in the congregation's relationships with God seemed to be in direct linear context with how low their cleavages go. I didn't know if it was a church or Magic City (if you don't know what Magic City is, ask your nearest Southern friend or relative).
Oh yeah, Jazmine Lewis' acting skills seem to consist of how many ways she can style her hair in one week, and it is beyond sad to see the once promising Cynda Williams reduced to being Luenell's sidekick as a weedsmokin' heathen of the church (screen time about 8 minutes). Wesley Jonathan has a way of delivering his lines like he's talking to someone in real life, and trust me, in this context, it is not a good thing. This one is not even worthy of purchase from the bootleg blanket. Lord let us pray....
Posted by
Invisible Woman
at
11/28/2008
14
comments
Labels: africa, bootleg, overlooked
Wednesday, August 13, 2008
The Black Cinema World Of BET vs.TV One
Let's briefly summarize what has been shown on BET Movies as of late (bear in mind I don't pay much attention to their line-up):
Gang Of Roses: Lil'Kim. Stacey Dash, Monica Calhoun (ugh) and others I kinda forgot as former prostitutes in the wild, wild West that become outlaws on the lam. Who knew that there were weaves, Baby Phat clothing, and MAC makeup in the Old West? Complete and total ridiculosity in every way from the script to the costuming to the acting.

The Wash: Featuring the super amazing acting skills of Snoop Dogg and Doctor Dre as 2 buddies working at a car wash. I frequently say that this is the worst Black movie I've ever seen, and I doubt that will ever change to my grave.
Leprechaun: Back To Tha Hood: About a leprechaun running around the ghetto trying to get his gold back. Need I say more?

State Property 2: Was there even a need to make State Property One?
Waist Deep: Super, duper low budget, but I'll give them a pass on this one (the only one), because I love looking at Tyrese and Meagan Good.

Three Can Play That Game: Kudos for at least trying to stay semi-current. As for the film itself....*sigh*
Nora's Hair Salon 2: I wrote about the dude who "wrote" and "directed" this movie before, Jean Claude LaMarre, a singular force involved with some of the worst films in Black Cinema history (he was also a part of "Gang Of Roses" and "Don't Touch Me If You Ain't Prayed! Part 2"). LMAO at his introduction in the beginning saying that he feels a responsibility toward our community for telling real stories about "us". Whatev! If you thought the first Nora's Hair Salon was bad, it was "The Dark Knight" compared to part two.
TV One on the other hand...classic and wonderful all day long.
Car Wash: Richard Pryor, Bill Duke, The Pointer Sisters, Ivan Dixon, George Carlin, Antonio Fargas, and the music of Rose Royce all in one film? Yes, the storyline was trite, but it is a true beloved classic., and everything "The Wash" wishes it was.
Dirty Laundry: The one misstep from them, maybe. Tho the core storyline was well intentioned, I place it on that long list of formula films that I am beginning to loathe....family comes together for a gathering, usually at a cookout or big dinner--macaroni and cheese, greens, fried chicken, etc. is served---revelations are made, secrets are revealed, drama ensues, and it is wrapped up with "family is family, no matter what". Can somebody please, please PLEASE give Jenifer Lewis a new M.O.? I can recite her lines as the sassy/mean/nosey/hypocritical neighbor/relative almost before she says them herself.
Posted by
Invisible Woman
at
8/13/2008
16
comments
Labels: bootleg, coontastic, low budget, meagan good, nuclear bombs, overlooked, throwback films, top ten black films
Friday, April 18, 2008
Today In B'Days

Posted by
Invisible Woman
at
4/18/2008
6
comments
Labels: f'd up invisibility, happy birthday, overlooked
Sunday, March 30, 2008
The Good, The Kinda Bad, And The Completely Wack.....
I went on one of my "mmm's" this weekend (mini movie marathons). So here are my mini reviews of what I saw.....
First up, The Good:
City Of God
I have read so very, very many wonderful things about this film. I have avoided it before, as I am ashamed to admit, sometimes I do not feel like reading subtitles. There I said it.
But my laziness has made me late on a completely amazing film on every level. It is a story of young hoodlums trying to rise above their poor and desperate hardscrabble life in Rio De Janeiro, Brazil. But it is so much more than that. There were twists and turns and multiple storylines everywhere, and it worked. Beautifully.
It conjures up memories of Scorsese's "Gangs Of New York", and Quentin Tarantino when he is good. It sometimes has the look and feel of a spectacular 70's black exploitation flick, and the high tension "anything could happen at any time" dread of "The Sopranos". Yet though you are reminded of all of these things, this film has a look and voice that is completely unique.
I once took an Italian Neo-Realism film class (not to sound uppity, but it's relevant). These films were well noted worldwide because it was the first time that cinema was shown in a ultra realistic way, and not Hollywood script style, right after WWII. They showed the human condition in a way that was in your face and unflinching, and the actors did not seem like actors at all, but folks really living the experience.
City Of God is like that; it shows Brazil in all it's beauty and it's seedy ugliness of the poor and working poor--the people are amazing to look at in this film (Brazilians are legendary for their diverse beauty, with good reason) from the darkest black to pale ginger red heads. It shows how people are forced to make choices out of desperation, cause they don't want to be left behind in a bleak hopeless world that they had no part in making, and how those choices can be so very f**ked up, to say the least.
To put it simply, this film was the s**t, the kind that you think about for days after you see it.
Also on The Good:
The Great Debaters
Yes, I finally broke down and saw it. In my opinion, though the film had high quality content, I think it would have been an even better film sans the overly sappy soundtrack. I'm just being honest.
I think one of the reasons I am such a fan of independent film is that it's lacking the swelling, manipulative music that is a staple of the Hollywood Machine. You know, the Disney-esque crescendo of the orchestra "happy music-feel happy here!" "serious, slow, tender music-feel sad here!" "uplifting loud music-feel happy again here, especially at the end!"
You know what I'm saying. That type of sound is preachy and tiresome. And I think The Great Debaters would have been a very solid film, taken a bit more seriously, and been a little longer lasting without it.
I felt the same about "Talk To Me". Just my opinion.
Next up, The Kinda Bad:
Meet The Browns
I don't want to straight out call this film bad, cause it wasn't. But it wasn't what you would call good either. Meet The Browns was pretty much everything you expect from a Tyler Perry movie, but this time with a couple of minor attention grabbing aspects.
Angela Bassett gave one of her Angela Bassett performances, and she can't help it---she is soooo serious. Even scenes that call for her to laugh light-heartedly seem very forced and unnatural. But she keeps your attention at all times, something that Tyler Perry's movies haven't really been able to do for me before. Seeing her very well toned body, jaunty, well placed hair scarves, and calm, sensible demeanor really didn't fit in that "Good Times" style project apartment she lived in either. Also lmao off at the babysitter scolding Angela multiple times, talking about "You young mothers these days". Ummmm.....Angela is 50?
Of course there is the "family-and-friends-sitting-around-the-dinner-table-while-major-life- changing-revelations-are-brought-to-life" scene (that honestly I am beginning to loathe). The one in this film is particularly out there and over the top, even for Tyler Perry.
Insert everything else from every other Perry film, and you have this one. It's almost comforting in it's sameness: a good man is a cure for all a woman's ills, the sassy/nosy/blunt neighbor/relative, the moral of "Put your faith in the Lord first", and the ever classic "Family is family, no matter what".
On a side note, even though he really hasn't done anything at all for me in the past, Rick Fox was looking mighty...."magically delicious" in this film. In other words...that negro was fine as hell! haha
*sigh* On to The Completely Wack (and inexplicable)
"Alvin And The Chipmunks"
Don't ask.
Miss B's Hair Salon
Holy sh*t. I don't even know what to say about this one. Let's first start off with the fact that the women on the DVD cover were nowhere to be found in the movie. It seemed like it was one of those films advertised on Craigslist calling for actors and crew with the line "no pay, but food and credit will be given!" They then proceed to film the movie on the cinematic equivalent of a camera phone, have everyone change "costumes" at the Exxon gas station, and have the movie take place in one room, two at the most. The script and dialogue seems like it was self-generated and wrote itself, as no breathing human being could possibly be this talentless. It makes Vivica Fox's "The Salon" look like "There Will Be Blood".
It was about a bunch of very badly done stereotypes and cliches rounded up in some sort of scary beauty shop, with Tiny Lister somehow involved. He is the only person with even a glimmer of recognition in the whole movie. The almost hypnotically insane side story was about some dude whose face they never showed-- only his crusty, blackened, weed smoked lips that he kept licking and crooked teeth, who had a parade of women coming to this house, supposedly lusting after him. He would proceed to have some type of level 3 sex offender type pre-coitus dialogue with them, all the while brushing his nappy chest hair above his open to the navel shirt (?!!) with a wig brush (?!!) as he was talking. WTF?!
This film was "written" and "directed" by some dude named Jean-Claude La Marre , who is a repeat offender on the horrible Black Cinema list. He has brought us such classics as "Don't Touch Me If You Ain't Prayed", "Gang Of Roses", "Voodoo Curse", and "Nora's Hair Salon".
Two abhorrently dismal hair salon movies? Someone arrest this man before he writes/produces/directs again!
Posted by
Invisible Woman
at
3/30/2008
24
comments
Labels: angela bassett, coontastic, corntastic, current cinema, denzel washington, grown and sexy, ice cube, jesus take the wheel, low budget, overlooked, reviews, thanks hollywood, tyler perry


RSS Feed (xml)


